~ Video Update ~ Recap of SFSU Koinonia’s 30 Hour Famine

Our video is up! Check it out below!! Hey guys, 30 Hour Famine is now over! Participating in the SF Food Bank, the garage sale, the convalescent home visit and wrapping up today at Home Church was a wonderful experience.  We’re really glad that we were given this opportunity to work together with USF Koinonia, to raise funds and spread awareness of the countless children out there dying in poverty.

Comment and let us know what your favorite part was and what you learned and check out the photos on our SFSU Koinonia Flickr Site!

SFSU Koinonia at SF Food Bank

23 Responses to ~ Video Update ~ Recap of SFSU Koinonia’s 30 Hour Famine

  1. jennchen says:

    Wow…the whole experience was really amazing, and it’s hard to choose a favorite part! I really enjoyed cleaning the cans 🙂 I wish we had more opportunities to go to the food bank! I also had really a good conversation at the convalescent home with a 92-year-old grandma who kept switching between Mandarin and Cantonese. Also, when I was asking my coworkers for donations, I was able to share how God had changed my life with some of them and in turn heard some stories from them as well. 🙂

  2. Dennis says:

    awesome pictures!! I really enjoyed looking through them and seeing the good work you guys did at the SF Food Bank!

  3. echow says:

    There is actually too much memories to chose from this day. I think overall, the food bank was a good experience for me because we all worked as a team. Going to the garage sale afterwards was memorable too. I got some great bargains too! I got a mini leatherman for 5 dollars and a nice, leather, full-back office chair for 10 dollars. The most memorable part of the garage sale was just having all of us out there. I think this was one of the most over-staffed garage sale in SF history. It was about 20-30 people for one house 🙂

    One thing that I realized again was how instinctive it is for me to eat and how much I take food for granted. We were over at Daemin’s and I saw a bag of chips on the counter. My instinct was to eat it, but I remembered that I wasn’t eating. It’s sad to think that although I have been fasting, I have food available and waiting to be eaten, but the people in the third world countries don’t even know when they can eat. This truly came alive to me at that time.

  4. ahneileen says:

    I had a great time at the Food Bank!! Can’t wait to go again!

    As you all know, I am constantly getting sick or having one health related problem after another. I realized that I am so rich here with great food, clean air/water, good health care.. and so I really gotta take care of myself. I am so weak that fasting really wiped me out!

    It’s amazing that we have to choose to force ourselves to not eat food…

  5. jeffri says:

    Yeah I had fun bargaining with some aunties and uncles that come to bargain for even cheaper price than it was… But during Garage Sale, I didnt feel tired at all. I think it was because it was so exciting to see how people actually buying stuffs that all the money goes to World Vision 30 Hour famine. One word to describe it : BEAUTIFUL!

  6. akim says:

    It was even better than last year – not just the funds we raised but the whole experience…Thank God for World Vision and their good works.

  7. echow says:

    Another thing is that Saturday night, I had trouble studying. I was trying to read and nothing was getting through. I was low on energy and I just wanted to lie down and close my eyes. It was difficult to concentrate when all I was thinking was that I had no energy.

    The next morning, when we were breaking fast, Eddie was telling me that he read through the packet and that the children in those countries are so hungry that they cannot concentrate on school. They end up not going to school because of hunger.

    This whole experience gave me a bigger perspective on how blessed I am. I have been given so much and yet I take it for granted. I forget to realize just how blessed I am…it makes me want to do more for now that I have experienced just a small fraction of their hunger. If I felt this way for a day, how much more will they feel? Here I am, living in a country full of choices of what to eat, and over there, they are wondering when they can eat and yet I am so oblivious…

  8. anna says:

    Even though what we did was so little — cleaning cans, donating household items and fasting for 30 hrs, I’m glad we got to contribute what we little we do have to help end world hunger.

  9. jawfree says:

    30 Hour Famine was more than what I expected! I’ll share a short summary of what the SF Food Bank group did.

    I had the privilege of serving at the SF Food Bank with some bros and sisters from USF and SFSU Koinonia. Our group was in charge of can restoration, where we take donated cans and clean it up. I’ll share the “perceived” process:

    Donated Cans > Quality Inspection > Can Wash > Drying > Categorization > Finished Restored Cans

    Our group of 20 people was split into 4 teams to fit in between this process. Who would’ve thought restoring these cans would make a difference? In the end, our project leader shared with us that we restored 2200 lbs. of food in 3 hours. Crazy!

    Erickson, Race, Wayne (from USF) and I took part in Quality Inspection. The easy part was distinguishing between bad cans and good cans. The hardest was enduring the gruesome smell of cracked cans. Fun times.

    There’s plenty more stories. I’m looking forward to hear more stories of what happened that day.

  10. ahneileen says:

    great video! thanks erickson for putting all the clips and pics together. Yeah it definitely was like we were sad, starving and crawling around looking for food 😀

  11. jawfree says:

    wow awesome recap video!!

  12. Kelly says:

    Oh my…the beginning of the video, so very dramatic Jeoffrey =)

    I am really glad that I got to participate in 30 hour famine this year. I feel like we did so little, and I know I personally felt even at the end of all this that I still can’t begin to imagine the pain of a constant hunger you have not chosen and don’t know there will ever be an end to. But I am really thankful that I got to contribute in this small way and be reminded not to take for granted all that I have been given.

  13. ang says:

    thank you for the video-really enjoyed it! looking forward to next year!

  14. richl says:

    This year was also eye-opening for me as being hungry reminded me of kids I saw in Nicaragua when I was on business there last year. While there, I saw kids milling on the street, some of them really out of it. They were out of it, I was told, because they had resorted to sniffing glue to numb their hunger pangs. It broke my heart.

    I’m glad I was able to take part and feel, at least for one day, what so many in this world go through. It opened my eyes so much more.

  15. jennchen says:

    thanks for the video! the beginning cracked me up!

  16. akim says:

    Check out kevin & jenn’s sharing at Gracepoint Stories at http://www.gracepointstories.org . Thanks for sharing!

  17. Christine says:

    Doing the 30 Hour Famine this year I was reminded how much I take for granted. I saw how rich I was compared to the rest of the world, I don’t have to worry about having food on the table. I was thankful for the opportunity to participate in this and to help make my friends and family aware of the need out there. I hope that through the funds we raise, it could help feed many children and lead to fullness both physically and spiritually.

  18. chrisachu says:

    I’m thankful that I got to participate in the 30 hour famine. I’m glad for the opportunity to give even a little time and effort to raise some money for the hungry across the world. Some of us visited a convalescent home that afternoon and we were singing hymns and sharing with the residents about our efforts to raise money for the hungry. I was encouraged that one of the residents really wanted to help out too and even offered to donate for the cause. I’m so thankful for God’s provision in my life and for growing my heart for those who are suffering throughout the world.

  19. anna says:

    Thanks for the recap video!! It was good to see the everyone hard at work at the food bank (maybe except for K1)…=)

    • ahneileen says:

      k1 – seriously man.. the workers at the food bank were starting to look kinda worried.. or some other look when they saw the pyramid. But in the end, we got a lot of work done!

      from what i recall that’s the table that seemed to have all the clean cans coming through which was why there was such a back-up in drying vs. the rest of us who really had to scrub the cans. 😉

  20. Franklin says:

    It really was a meaningful weekend, even though it felt pretty tiring overall. I am really thankful for 30-Hour Famine since it reminded me of how blessed I am to live in America during this century.

  21. Steve Chen says:

    The garage sale was pretty exciting to see so many people buy the stuff in which we couldn’t use and donate so that others could put to good use. It was heart-breaking to see the PS2 sold for $25 what a bargain! haha. The vamos guys unfortunately couldn’t make it to the SF Food Bank or breaking the fast event at Arballo. Maybe next year.

  22. Bruce Mo Kyaw says:

    Thanks for the video!!! I really enjoyed it.

Leave a comment